Places to visit in Switzerland: The Sphinx Observatory

The Sphinx Observatory3

If you find yourself near Berne, you should take the train for a 45 minutes ride to the foot of the alps, and from there get another 3 hour train that will get you to highest land-based structure in Europe, The Sphinx. Located in Jungfraujoch at 3,571 meters above the Sea Level, the observatory has a viewing platform that’s accessible to visitors.

Sphinx-observatory-Switzerland

The Sphinx observatory is placed between the cantons of Berne and Valais, in a mountain region that was declared as a protected area of the Swiss Alpine region. As you can see, the scenery is pretty impressive, offering everlasting views. A large part of the Sphinx and overnight accommodations are restricted to the general public, but even so, the trip worth your while.
sphinx-observatory

The center gathers astronomers, physicists, hydrologists and geologists since it is the 14th highest permanent observatory in the World, and one of a kind in Europe. Sphinx is an important element in long-term experiments because it is used as a solar spectrometer for the Institute of Astrophysics and Geophysics at the University of Liège, Belgium and in the LIDAR experiment for the École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne in Switzerland.

The actual view from the viewing platform:

Sphinx Observatory - The View

Sphinx Observatory - The View 2

The Sphinx Observatory - the view 3

source: guardian.co.uk, wikipedia.org

see more spectacular viewing platforms

Endroits à visiter en Suisse : l’Observatoire du Sphinx

The Sphinx Observatory3

Si vous vous trouvez près de Berne, vous devez prendre le train pour un trajet de 45 minutes au pied des Alpes et dès là un autre train de 3 heures qui vous conduira à plus haute structure terrestres en Europe, Le Sphinx. Situé à Jungfraujoch à 3 571 mètres au-dessus du niveau de la mer, l’Observatoire a une plate-forme d’observation qui est accessible aux visiteurs.

AVERTISSEMENT : cette page peut contenir des erreurs grammaticales ou d’orthographe. Visiter la version anglaise pour lire l’article original.

Sphinx-observatory-Switzerland

L’Observatoire du Sphinx est placé entre les cantons de Berne et du Valais, dans une région montagneuse qui a été déclarée comme une zone protégée de la région des Alpes Suisse. Comme vous pouvez le voir, le paysage est assez impressionnant, offrant une vue éternelle. Une grande partie du Sphinx et Hébergement de nuit sont limités pour le grand public, mais malgré cela, le voyage vaut la peine.

sphinx-observatory

Le centre regroupe des astronomes, des physiciens, des géologues et des hydrologues puisque c’est le 14e observatoire permanent plus élevé dans le monde et uniques en Europe. Sphinx est un élément important dans les expériences à long terme car il est utilisé comme un spectromètre solaire pour l’Institut d’astrophysique et de géophysique à l’Université de Liège, en Belgique et à l’expérimentation LIDAR pour l’École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne en Suisse.

La vue réelle de la plate-forme du Sphinx :

Sphinx Observatory - The View

Sphinx Observatory - The View 2

The Sphinx Observatory - the view 3

source: guardian.co.uk, wikipedia.org

see more plates-formes d’observation spectaculaire